top of page

Answered Prayers


Jon raises arms in victory next to Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

If you're on Facebook, you probably already saw this, but I'm officially in remission! Here's what we know...

I had my PET scan today and then met with my oncologist. Because of the quick turnaround, the radiologist didn't have a final report, but my doctor was able to talk with the radiologist while reviewing the images to get a preliminary report. Basically, the scan still showed glucose uptake in my mediastinum. However, it looks like it's about the same or slightly less than it was last time. Given the 3 months that have elapsed since the last scan, my oncologist and the radiologist agree that the uptake is NOT cancer related. If it were cancer-related the uptake should be significantly higher at this point. Without specific numbers, they could say for sure whether it was a either Deauville 2 or still a 3 but, again, at this point it doesn't matter. Either way, there doesn't seem to be anything growing there.

After explaining all this, she asked if we had any questions. Kristen asked if she could definitively say we were in remission and she said, absolutely. You're in remission. This would be considered a complete response.

Also, my immune system seems to be holding steady, albeit still lower than the standard range. More good news!

So where do we go from here? I will have follow-up appointments every 3 months for the next year, then I'll have follow-ups every 4 months. After two years, I'll move to every 6 months and eventually once a year. These will just be check-ins for blood draws and exams. The only scan I'll have is a CT scan in 6 months.

Aside from the follow-ups and scans, the next big milestone will be 18 months. Most studies have shown that IF there were to be a recurrence (which happens, but not THAT frequently), it typically happens within 18 months.

So, here we are. We are SO relieved and overjoyed. We have been smiling pretty much nonstop this afternoon (with Kristen alternating between random outbursts of laughter and tears of joy). We told the kids when we got home that the tumor is gone and they got SUPER giddy and excited. They launched themselves into my arms and gave me huge hugs and then immediately started "decorating" (strewing party streamers everywhere) to celebrate!

I know the fight is never over, but I kind of feel like I have to do the Oscar's acceptance speech at this point...

I can't help but say how grateful I am for Kristen. I know she doesn't always feel like it, but she has been my rock through all of this. She has lived and embodied her vows: "for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, for as long as we both shall live." She has carried our family through heartache - not least of which, her own.

Jon and Kristen in front of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

I'm so grateful for our kids, who have endured their own heartache and hardship. They have brought so many smiles to our faces and have grown in their own ways through all of this. I am so proud of them.

I am so thankful for Dana-Farber and Dr. Odejide. I know my prognosis was pretty good to begin with, but nothing is ever a given. Dr. Odejide has cared so well for me and Kristen - body, soul, and spirit. Her wisdom, expertise, and compassion - and that of everyone at Dana-Farber and Brigham and Women's - are why we're here today.

Thank you to everyone who cared for us in so many tangible ways. We can never come close repaying you. I just hope that in your own time of need, we can be there for you some small way.

Finally, and most importantly, we are so grateful to God. He is the author of life. He is the great physician. He is the beginning and the end, and he knows my beginning and end. Precious in his sight is my death - which means he is not flippant about it. No, he takes it very seriously and works everything for good - not just my good, but ALL those who love him. He created B-Cells and the physics/chemistry/biology that allows Rituximab to attack CD20 (or something like that...). Whatever my lot, he has taught me to say, "it is well with my soul." Nothing can separate us from the love of God that is Christ Jesus our Lord - not cancer, and not even (when the day comes) death itself.

We are celebrating tonight (ice cream with the kids and bubbly for us. Thanks Annie!) and we hope to continue the celebration with you all at some point!

Two flutes of sparkling wine in front of the bottle


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page