top of page

He protects me so well...

The last couple of days have been MUCH better in terms of side effects. The jaw sensitivity is gone, as is the back pain. Thanks to that Neulasta shot, my white blood cell count went up over 5000% (yes, five-thousand percent) in three days. When the nurse saw that, she said, "Well, that explains your back pain!"

Lately, I've been getting more of the delayed side effects. I've had a bit of neuropathy (numbness) in my finger tips. The lining in my stomach/esophagus is a bit thinner, as I've had some heartburn/acid reflux.

Most notably, my hair is definitely starting to thin. It's mostly still there, but I'd give it a couple days before it starts shedding more noticeably.

Jon with Patriots hat

With the bye week coming up, it's a good bet I've watched my last Pats game of the year with my hair. No worries, though. My brand new Patriots beanie has got me covered!

Today, I was reminded of a truth that's been comforting me since the likelihood of chemo first arose. At Park Street Church, we celebrate communion once each month. Before we partake in the Eucharist, we confess our faith, using the words of the Heidelberg Catechism:

Question: What is your hope, in life and in death?

Answer: That I belong -- body and soul, in life and in death -- not to myself but to my faithful Savior, Jesus Christ, who at the cost of his own blood has fully paid for all my sins and has completely freed me from the dominion of the Devil; that he protects me so well that without the will of my Father in heaven not a hair can fall from my head; indeed, that everything must fit his purpose for my salvation. Therefore, by his Holy Spirit, he also assures me of eternal life, and makes me wholeheartedly willing and ready from now on to live for him.

Cancer sucks and chemo is a bitter blessing. But my hope is in my faithful Savior, Jesus Christ. He redeems me and protects me. Not a hair can fall from my head apart from the will of God my Father. Every hair that chemo claims - and everything I will face in life - must fit his purposes for my salvation.

That's good enough for me. What greater purpose could my hair serve? I can always wear my Patriots hat.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page